• News

  • News

  • Ethiopia’s Geremew and Daska emerge victorious Posted on 17 May 2015

    Mosinet Geremew and Mamitu Daska clinched the men's and women's title respectively as Ethiopian runners overwhelmed traditional powerhouse Kenya in the eighth TCS World 10K here today.

    Mosinet went on to win the race in 28:16sec, while Daska clocked 31:57sec. Former 10K world record-holder and Beijing Olympic bronze medallist Micah Kipkemboi Kogo (Kenya) was among the nine men who led the bunch.

    After the pacemakers left the group in 4km, four runners started to move forward.Among the Indians, Suresh Kumar, on his third appearance here, eclipsed the course record for the local runners by clocking 29 minutes 49 seconds.

    The former Asian junior champion over 10,000m received a course record bonus of Rs 200,000 over and above his winning purse Rs 250,000.

    Tamil Nadu's Suriya Loganathan, double gold-medallist in the recent edition of Federation Cup at Mangaluru, won the title in Indian women's category with a time of 35:58sec.

    Kogo, whose 2009 record of 27:01 still ranked him second in the all-time lists, managed to lead the group until 8km with compatriot Edwin Kiptoo taking over over in between briefly.

    While the runners were still in Cubbon Park, the two Ethiopians increased their pace and moved ahead.

    Mosinet, winner of Hyderabad 10K three years ago with a record 27:36 for that distance, was trying to clock another sub-28 minutes.

    However, it was too late for him to try that today as the Ethiopians could not utilise the pace set by Kenyan Edwin on earlier stages.

    Mosinet went on to win the race in 28:16sec with teammate Fikadu just two seconds behind for the second place. Edwin (28:20sec) and Kogo (28:29sec) finished on next two spots.

    Although his time was the slowest in the men's race in the race's history, Mosinet become the second Ethiopian to win here after Deriba Merga in 2009.

    "The course was very hard. I made the push only 400m to finish, otherwise I could have clocked a better timing," the winner said.

    While the men started their race fast but finished with slow timing, it was the other way round in the women's race. Three of the past winners in Bangalore were among those who took the starting line-up -- Aselefech Mergia (2009), Ayalew Yimer Wude (2010) and Helah Kiprop (2012).

    Kenya's former world youth champion Jackline Chepngeno led a big bunch of a dozen women at the initial stages. When the leaders crossed the mid-way at 16:10sec Ethiopian Mamitu Daska realised that if she could increase her pace the day would hers.

    Dubai marathon champion Mergi, who knew the terrain well, faded away at this stage along with country-mate Belaynesh Oljira, the winner of World's Best 10K at San Juan earlier this year.

    Daska clocked 31:57sec to win the race, thus missing the course record of 31:48sec set by Lucy Kaboo of Kenya last year in just 9 secs. Lucy's mark is also an all-comers' record for this distance in India.

    Wude overwhelmed Gladys at the last phase to finish second in 32:10sec. Both the winners in elite category, went home with USD 21,000 winner's cheque.

    « Back to news archive